no i haven't actually lost a friendship
the "old friend" in this case is the lapfox/halley fandom. i find the current fandom really annoying; whether it just be that a lot of them are younger and i'm growing older, or their behavior is either annoying or immature, or both (chai tea). but also how some of you hunger for a bunch of dumbass drama in fandom and it's annoying as shit (and i WILL admit that up until recently i was in a gossip gc with some friends and would talk about general controversy in furry music)
i've been in the fandom since i was 11. i discovered lft from you got curves she got curves. i've drawn fanart, created fanfiction, remixes, and ocs. mayhem sparked the beginning of my queer journey. squeedge's art left a great impact on my artstyle (in all honesty, when i was younger i was trying to draw just like them. i did an ok job everywhere but the anatomy department.) most importantly however, was that lapfox was half of my introduction to hardcore, the other half being dj s3rl. and also caliber
reasons listed earlier were also why i took the renard v queefston channel out back. i also felt like oppenheimer somewhat, because while i'm not the only reason lapfox has seen a resurgance from 2024 onwards, i absolutely played a decently large part in bringing it to people's minds with the channel. something becoming popular again isn't bad, it's just that the new people are really fucking annoying and brainless.
YES it's bad that em had a nazi oc 10 years ago, YES they've changed from that, NO that doesn't mean i'm excusing their edgy behavior. YES em was downright abusive to rasasha, YES vulpvibe and thus everything else em music wise was funded by rasasha thinking they were helping em with life expenses but in reality em was just begging for their money when they didn't need it, YES that means everything you love was funded by the victim of its creator and thus is stained. and i'm not putting a difinitive label on this one, but i do think that what happenned between em and nishi was a miscommunication. you may have your own opinions and i cannot dissuade you. but the problem is that people are either black or white. the two sides of the fandom are "em is mecharapisthitler" or "em is innocent and was framed" and BOTH of those takes are super r worded.
going back to when i posted the "em essex nazigate theory" video, there was a small population of people who did exactly what i was parodying in the video and acting like i was completely excusing ems actions, when i made it clear through parody and the video's description that it wasn't the case. half of my friends were pushing the "em is still a nazi" thing and it did quiet down when i posted that, but there was a person who said "erm,,, oomf... is an em apologist?" and that in my brain told me the semi-sensationalist nature of some of my friends, willing to brainlessly follow something without thought and attack anything opposing, even to throw personal relationships under the bus. will those few read this? likely, so please change your behavior because it's very drama queen-y and downright immature. i have a very mellow and chill nature, i'm not very good with confrontation and there is no thing going on to randomly rush into dms talking about some "Erghgh you're super sensationalist" so i choose to be indirect here without naming names, and i feel it's more powerful and may also sway some other people stuck like this.
there's nuance here; and i'm not using that to excuse em's actions either. em was abusive to rasasha, em and nishi had a miscommunication; em appears to have moved past doing things like that and actively tries to better themselves. GREAT! hopefully no one else will be victimized. but abuse physically, mentally, and sexually stays forever. when i was 13-15ish i was a huge proprietor of ignoring everything and saying it was disproven on the queefston channel, especially stating so indirectly through some videos (of which i have privated; no loss there they weren't funny anyways.) i always left out rasasha and focused on nishi. gross! halfway through 2025, my take was "yeah, they were awful, but they're changed now so i guess its ok to buy stuff." No
i haven't given them my money since then and have decided to distance myself from doing that. this is also just a simple version of events, i don't need to go over every thing about someone else's wrongdoings in a place dedicated to me, and this is an opinion piece that in the end is "i don't suport them anymore", so i urge you to read up on first hand accounts from victims and the accused themselves.
back to the fandom itself, part of me wanting to distance myself from the fandom itself is also the inevitable label of "silly carz/release the gubbys" humor. i know it's going to happen and i'm theoretically killing myself beforehand instead of dying a slow and painful death at the hands of tiktok npcs discovering things outside of their narrow scope of ai fruit love island. do i hate those kinds of people? no, but they're cringe to me and i prefer to steer clear of that because i don't like it (online). i'm friends with people like that irl so i deal with it because i'm friends with people for their personalities, and i can put up with the cringe hand motions that scream redditor for the genuinely kind and accepting person that i know.
to add onto the "new lapfox fandom is fucking insufferable" part, there's a lot of 13-15 year olds cancelling each other for dumbass reasons (tbh that's happening with a lot of people in that age group and not just the lft fandom). there are valid callouts occasionally (ON OLDER PEOPLE), but most of the in fandom infighting is kids pretending to have the moral highground and it's super anti-grasstouching behavior. absolutely to "back in my day", i was playing outside, posting my fanart, having fun online and offline, and playing outside. i was joymaxxing like a normal kid instead of forcing myself to grow up.
i think that's it, so tldr i'm distancing myself from a lot of the fandom activities, a lot of furry hardcore is not my jam and i'm kinda leaning more towards non-furry hardcore, i might still post fanart and maybe make remixes but queefston is staying dead. byebye